Joy(less) Motherhood

deonnakellisayed:

My latest “Thoughts of a Wasat Girl” column.

Originally posted on Love, InshAllah:

Pregnant Pakistani-style. Mujtaba, Jamal, and Hamid. (Ibrahim is in my belly.)

Pregnant Pakistani-style. Mujtaba, Jamal, and Hamid. (Ibrahim is in my belly.)

The text arrived while I sat at a coffee shop bent over a lazy notebook and a blank page. Happy Mother’s Day, the text read. Thank you for taking care of us. I can only imagine how stressful it was. I hope you’re doing well.

My head jerked back as I sucked in caffeinated air. I sat in my chair for approximately three seconds before I retreated to the bathroom to cry. I continued bawling on the way home. Later while in the shower, I moaned like an animal as the water attempted to wash away my grief and sadness.

I have found myself trying to avoid this aspect of my past during the two-and-a-half years since I left my marriage. There are many things that I freely share about my decision to leave Zalmay, my ex-husband. I have never discussed how…

View original 1,428 more words

One comment

  1. Hi there! My name is Heather and I was wanted to know if you would be able to answer a question I have regarding your blog! My email is Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com :-)

Leave a Reply

